Musée National Eugène Delacroix




  • Musée National Eugène Delacroix

    In the continuity of the parcours in the Jardin des Tuileries, the musée Delacroix becomes the setting for a carte blanche to an artist.
    Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, the musée Eugène Delacroix is an unexpected haven of peace, niched between courtyard and garden. Designed by the painter himself, the studio was transformed into a museum through the initiative of Maurice Denis and other major painters of the 1920s.
    It is a site dedicated to artistic creation.

    During FIAC week, a cultural mediation service is provided by students of the Ecole du Louvre.

    Free access upon presentation of your FIAC ticket.

  • 2018 | Rebecca Warren


  • Rainer (in the garden), 2017

    hand-painted bronze
    117 3/4 x 20 1/8 x 18 1/8 inches

    Mélancholie (in the studio), 2011

    Steel and pompom
    59,5 × 51,8 × 28 cm

    Max Hetzler, Berlin, Paris, London

    Rebecca Warren (born in 1965, lives and works in London) creates sculptures, assemblies and constructions from various materials such as clay, bronze, steel and neon.
    She says about her work: "It emerges from a sort of strange nowhere from which something gradually emerges, comes to light. There are impulses, forms interviewed, elements that have been in me for decades, others that are more recent. It's everything that comes from the world and penetrates me, as if I were a filter... "
  • For the FIAC Out of the Walls programme, Rebecca Warren will present the sculpture Rainer (in the garden) (2017) in the garden of the Eugène Delacroix National Museum, as well as Mélancholie (in the studio) (2011) in the museum.

    Placed directly on the ground, the bronze sculpture Rainer (in the garden) (2017) measures three metres high. Hand painted with delicate touches in mainly pale tones, the sculpture has glaze effects and darker and wider areas in places to evoke the flesh, clothing, facial features, or, at the other end of the spectrum, a simple surface mirror. At the top of Rainer (in the garden), a large pink knot overhangs a clearly delineated blue-black part evoking an eye patch or a highly dilated pupil.

    "Rebecca Warren's steel works evoke the tradition of abstract sculpture, although a stylized figuration appears at times. (...) Melancholy (in the studio) (2011) can be considered as a common object, a cardboard on which a plate would have been placed carelessly, slightly skewed - and topped once again by a pompom." Bice Curiger, In all things a song lies sleeping, in Every Aspect of Bitch Magic, p.16

    Rainer (in the garden) : photo Charles Duprat
    Mélancolie (in the studio) : photo Marc Domage
    Courtesy of the artist and Max Hetzler Gallery, Berlin | Paris | London

OUTDOOR PROJECTS 2018

We use cookies to enable this website to function, to make it more user friendly and to offer you products and services tailored to your interests. Please note that by using this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.For further information about cookies and how to manage them, click here.

Musée National Eugène Delacroix




  • Musée National Eugène Delacroix

    Dans la continuité du parcours des Tuileries, le FIAC laisse carte blanche à un artiste au musée national Eugène Delacroix.
    Situé dans le dernier atelier et appartement d’Eugène Delacroix, au cœur de Saint-Germain-Des-Prés, le musée Eugène Delacroix est un havre de paix, entre cour et jardin. Conçu par le peintre lui-même, l’atelier fut transformé en musée à l’initiative de Maurice Denis et des grands peintres des années 1920. Il est ainsi un lieu dédié à la création artistique.

    Pendant la semaine de la FIAC, un service de médiation est assuré par les élèves de l'Ecole du Louvre : ils présentent les œuvres, en répondant aux questions des visiteurs.

    Accès libre sur présentation d’un titre d’entrée FIAC.

  • 2018 | Rebecca Warren


  • Rainer, 2017

    bronze peint à la main
    299 x 51 x 46 cm

    Mélancholie, 2011

    Acier et pompon
    59,5 × 51,8 × 28 cm

    Max Hetzler, Berlin, Paris, Londres

    Rebecca Warren (née en 1965, vit et travaille à Londres) réalise des sculptures, assemblages et constructions à partir de matériaux divers comme l’argile, le bronze, l’acier et le néon.
    Elle dit au sujet de son travail : « Il surgit d’une sorte d’étrange nulle part dont peu à peu quelque chose émerge, vient au jour. Il y a des impulsions, des formes entrevues, des éléments qui sont en moi depuis des dizaines d’années, d’autres qui sont plus récents. C’est tout ce qui vient du monde et qui me pénètre, comme si j’étais un filtre... »

  • Pour le programme Hors les Murs de la FIAC, Rebecca Warren présentera la sculpture Rainer (2017) dans le jardin du Museé National Eugène Delacroix, ainsi que Mélancholie (2011) dans le musée.

    Posée directement au sol, la sculpture en bronze Rainer (2017) mesure trois mètres de haut. Peinte à la main par touches délicates dans des tons principalement pâles, la sculpture présente par endroit des effets de glacis et des zones plus sombres et larges de manière à évoquer la chair, le vêtement, les traits du visage, ou encore, à l'autre extrémité du spectre, un simple miroitement de surface. Au sommet de Rainer, un grand noeud rose surplombe une partie bleu-noir clairement délimitée évoquant un cache-oeil ou une pupille fortement dilatée.

    "Les oeuvres de Rebecca Warren réalisées en acier évoquent la tradition de la sculpture abstraite, bien qu'une figuration stylisée surgisse par moment. (...) Melancholie (2011) peut être considérée comme un objet usuel, un carton sur lequel une assiette aurait été posée négligemment, légèrement de travers - et surmonté une fois encore par un pompon."
    Bice Curiger, In all things a song lies sleeping, in Every Aspect of Bitch Magic, p.16


    © Tate. Mark Heathcote, Seraphona Neville and Matt Greenwood
    Courtesy de l'artiste et de la Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin | Paris | Londres

FIAC Hors les Murs 2018

Nous utilisons des cookies pour faire fonctionner ce site Internet, améliorer son utilisation et vous proposer des offres et services adaptés à vos centres d'intérêt. Veuillez noter qu'en utilisant ce site, vous consentez à l'utilisation de cookies. Pour toute information sur les cookies notamment comment les gérer, cliquer ici