MK2 Grand Palais





















  • MK2 grand palais

    FIAC presents a cycle of feature-length artists’ films and a conference programme in the mk2 Grand Palais Cinema on Thursday 18th and Friday 19th October.

    Free access subject to availability unless stated otherwise in the agenda
    Grand Palais, entrée VIP, Rotonde Alexandre III, 75008


    In collaboration with
    mk2-Grand-Palais


  • THURSDAY OCTOBER 18TH




















  • 2pm


    • Take me (I’m yours), Philippe Parreno, Joan Jonas et 14 rooms

    • Introduction by Hans Ulrich Obrist

    Live Art, ARTE

    ARTE presents Live Art, a documentary collection, about « ephemeral » artworks, in presence of its curator Hans Ulrich Obrist. Directed Hans Ulrich Obrist and created by art critic Heinz Peter Schwerfel, Live Art broaches several major “ephemeral” works. This documentary collection lifts the veil behind the scenes of artistic creations that counter market expectations. It also highlights the various approaches of their authors, renowned and emerging artists, and the curious spectators who come to discover their work.
  • 4pm


    • Screening of a selection of films by Laure Prouvost

    • Introduced by the artist who will represent France at the upcoming 58th Venice Biennale and Martha Kirszenbaum, the curator of the French Pavilion

    Laure Prouvost

    Combining representation of desire, oneirism, and a fantasized description of nature, Laure Prouvost’s immersive films, installations, drawings and tapestries imperil our relation to language and comprehension through the construction of complex narratives and surrealist moments that feed her unusual approach to the conventions of film and image. The artist attaches a special importance to language and its representation, with great verve she plays with words, stretching and deconstructing them before putting them together again and reinserting them into the story, where they jump and swirl, snub us and escape our understanding. The attention that Laure Prouvost allots to the environment and to the natural and human elements surrounding her serve as the raw material of her practice and her generous way of filming. Her films do not exist without the universe that surrounds them and where, captured with metaphor and romanticism, the invisible becomes apparent.
  • 5:30pm


    • The Restaurant, 2018

    • Introduction by Will Benedict & Steffen Jørgensen

    Will Benedict et Steffen Jorgensen

    The Restaurant by Will Benedict and Steffen Jørgensen is a cooking show set in an alternative reality with strong similarities to our own. In this timeline, a Parisian skyscraper sits alone in the jungle filled with nothing but restaurants and the industry necessary to sustain them. A cast of characters span the spectrum from human to alien and beyond exploring the moral dimensions of how we eat.



















  • 7pm


    • Occidental, 2017

    • Introduction by Neil Beloufa and the film crew

    • Vendredi Distribution ©BAD MANNERS

    Neil Beloufa

    The streets of Paris are taken by barricades and furious protesters. Antonio and Giorgio, an eccentric and improbable couple, take refuge in the Hotel Occidental. Diana, the hotel manager, instantly suspects their attitude and calls the police. With no proper evidence, the officers and the hotel crew find themselves on a series of absurd anecdotal events involving homophobia, racism, misogyny, terrorist threats and political manipulations. The situation unfolds on a funny and tangled story that reflects satirically the uneasy context of our time.

  • FRIDAY OCTOBER 19TH

  • 3.30pm

    • Shakedown, 2018

    Leilah Weinraub

    SHAKEDOWN tells the story of Los Angeles’ black lesbian strip club scene and its genesis crafted by Weinraub over a fifteen-year period that began in 2002. Owned and operated by women, underground and illegal in nature, the club Shakedown is the darker, faster, younger iteration of this dance culture. Shakedown emerged from a post-riots, post-OJ, post-integration but still very racially divided Los Angeles. In this divided city Shakedown is an independent, all black and all female cash economy. The film chronicles the explicit performances and personal relationships of the party’s dancers and organizers including Ronnie-Ron, Shakedown Productions’ creator and emcee; Mahogany, the legendary “mother” of the scene; Egypt, their star performer; and Jazmyne, the “Queen” of Shakedown. The story functions as a legend where money is both myth and material. Cumulatively, questions arise about how to diagram the before and after of a utopic moment.



















  • 5pm

    • In collaboration with Applicat Prazan

    Michel Tapié, Chercheur d’art

    Hosted by Juliette Evezard, Doctor in art history, this lecture focuses on the adventure of Michel Tapié de Céleyran (1909-1987) and echoes the booth that Applicat-Prazan Gallery has dedicated to him. An artist, art critic, artistic advisor, and collector, this key figure promoted many of the main artists of the late twentieth century and laid the groundwork for a commercial system.

We use cookies to enable this website to function, to make it more user friendly and to offer you products and services tailored to your interests. Please note that by using this site you are agreeing to the use of cookies.For further information about cookies and how to manage them, click here.

MK2 Grand Palais





















  • MK2 grand palais

    La FIAC propose un cycle de projections de films d’artistes et un programme de conférences dans la Salle mk2 Grand Palais le jeudi 18 et le vendredi 19 octobre.

    Accès libre dans la limite des places disponibles
    Grand Palais, entrée VIP, Rotonde Alexandre III, 75008


    En collaboration avec
    mk2-Grand-Palais


  • JEUDI 18 OCTOBRE




















  • 14h


    • Take me (I’m yours), Philippe Parreno, Joan Jonas et 14 rooms

    • Introduction par Hans Ulrich Obrist

    Live Art, ARTE

    ARTE diffuse Live Art, une collection documentaire, sur les oeuvres d’art éphémères, en présence de son commissaire Hans Ulrich Obrist. Dirigée par Hans Ulrich Obrist, et réalisée par le critique d’art Heinz Peter Schwerfel, Live Art se penche sur plusieurs grandes oeuvres dites éphémères. Cette collection documentaire lève le voile sur les coulisses de créations artistiques à contre-courant des attentes du marché. Elle met aussi en lumière la démarche de leurs auteurs, artistes renommés et émergents, et les spectateurs curieux venus découvrir leur travail.
  • 16h


    • Projection d’une sélection de films de Laure Prouvost

    • Introduit par l’artiste qui représentera la France à la 58e Biennale de Venise et Martha Kirszenbaum, commissaire du Pavillon Français

    Laure Prouvost

    Mêlant représentation du désir, onirisme et description fantasmée de la nature, les films immersifs, les installations, les dessins et les tapisseries de Laure Prouvost mettent en péril notre relation au langage et à la compréhension à travers l’intrication de narrations complexes et de moments surréalistes qui nourrissent son approche, inhabituelle, des conventions du cinéma et de l’image. L’artiste accorde une importance particulière au langage et à sa représentation, et maîtrise avec brio cette manière de jouer avec les mots, de les étirer, de les déconstruire avant de les assembler à nouveau et de les réinjecter dans le récit — ils sautillent et tourbillonnent, ils nous font un pied de nez et échappent à notre entendement. L’attention que Laure Prouvost porte à son environnement et aux éléments naturels et humains qui l’entourent fondent la matière première de sa pratique et de sa manière généreuse de filmer. Ses films n’existent pas sans l’univers qui les entoure et où, capturé avec métaphore et romantisme, l’invisible apparaît à nos yeux.
  • 17h30


    • The Restaurant, 2018

    • Introduction par Will Benedict & Steffen Jørgensen

    Will Benedict et Steffen Jorgensen

    The Restaurant de Will Benedict et Steffen Jørgensen est une émission culinaire présentée dans une réalité alternative aux fortes ressemblances avec notre société. Un gratte-ciel parisien domine une jungle uniquement peuplée de restaurants et d’entreprises nécessaires à leur propre alimentation. Un ensemble de personnage, allant de l’humain à l’extraterrestre ou plus encore, explore la dimension morale de la manière de nous nourrir.



















  • 19h


    • Occidental, 2017

    • Introduction par Neil Beloufa et l’équipe du film

    • Vendredi Distribution ©BAD MANNERS

    Neil Beloufa

    Antonio et Giorgio, un couple improbable à l’étrange accent italien, entrent à l’Hôtel Occidental pour y réserver la suite nuptiale. Alors que dans les rues la révolte gronde, leur arrivée va transformer l’atmosphère paisible de l’établissement en théâtre d’une suspicion généralisée. Amants ou voleurs, les deux hommes dissimulent-ils leur identité ou sont-ils victimes des préjugés et des peurs qui traversent notre société?

  • VENDREDI 19 OCTOBRE

  • 15h30

    • Shakedown, 2018

    Leilah Weinraub

    SHAKEDOWN raconte l'histoire du monde des clubs de strip-tease noirs et lesbiens de Los Angeles et leur origine, une histoire élaborée par Weinraub sur une période de quinze ans à partir de 2002. Appartenant à et géré par des femmes, underground et illégal par nature, le club Shakedown est la version la plus sombre, la plus fiévreuse et la plus jeune de cette culture de la nuit. Shakedown a émergé dans une Los Angeles post-émeutes, post-OJ et post-intégration mais toujours très divisée racialement. Dans cette ville divisée, Shakedown appartient à une économie de marché indépendante, entièrement noire et entièrement féminine. Le film fait la chronique des performances explicites et des relations personnelles des danseuses et des organisateurs des fêtes, dont Ronnie-Ron, créateur et MC de Shakedown Productions ; Mahogany, la « mère » légendaire de ce milieu ; Egypt, la performeuse vedette, et Jazmyne, la « Reine » de Shakedown. L'histoire fonctionne comme une légende où l'argent est à la fois mythologique et matériel. De plus, la question se pose de comment schématiser l'avant et l'après d'un moment utopique.



















  • 17h

    • En collaboration avec Applicat Prazan

    Michel Tapié, Chercheur d’art

    Animée par la Docteur en Histoire de l’Art Juliette Evezard, cette conférence porte sur l’aventure de Michel Tapié de Céleyran (1909-1987) et fait écho au stand que lui consacre la Galerie Applicat Prazan. Artiste, critique d’art, conseiller artistique et collectionneur, ce personnage-clé a promu nombreux des principaux artistes de la seconde moitié du XXème siècle et révolutionné le système marchand.

Nous utilisons des cookies pour faire fonctionner ce site Internet, améliorer son utilisation et vous proposer des offres et services adaptés à vos centres d'intérêt. Veuillez noter qu'en utilisant ce site, vous consentez à l'utilisation de cookies. Pour toute information sur les cookies notamment comment les gérer, cliquer ici